Screw Amy, Jake and Rosa Should End Up Together on Brooklyn Nine-Nine

https://i0.wp.com/i.imgur.com/OtFf5BB.png

It was a dark and stormy afternoon. I plopped down in front of the TV for my daily ritual: one episode of How I Met Your Mother. Then, disaster struck. The episode had been rescheduled. I felt the sharp sting of disappointment. The walls of my routine were collapsing around me. What was I to do now with the free half an hour which Providence had granted me? Aimlessly, I flipped through the channels, looking for something to watch instead. And kids, that’s the story of how I discovered Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

When I first started watching the show, I though it was going to be yet another show devoted to the doings of an egocentric white male, (*cough* Community *cough*), but I was wrong. Jake Peralta is no Jeffrey Winger. He’s silly, bumbling, and infallibly likable.

After a few weeks of watching Jakey pine over Amy (look, they rhyme, how sickening), I realized that Jake and Amy clearly weren’t meant to be. Amy was perfectly happy with Freddy Teddy. Besides, Amy is so goody-goody, and Jake is so not.

On the other hand, there is Rosa. She looks like she’s stuck somewhere between evil mastermind and total badass. She knows what’s best for everyone, including the omniscient Amy. She’s also pretty levelheaded. These seemingly contradictory things are what make her work as a character, instead of being yet another underdeveloped Goth Girl cliché.

And this is exactly why they’re so perfect together. Rosa’s constant sensibleness to Jake’s unique blend of half-foolishness, and half-brilliance. His constant sunniness to her chronically moody temperament. Besides, their relationship would be freaking hilarious. It would be like the Evil Witch of the West dating the Earl of Ickenham, and yes, those are characters from two very different books, but I assure you, the comparison is apt. Rosa has a cloud hanging over her head all the time, and Jake practically exudes sunshine. Together, they will make rainbows. Who doesn’t like rainbows?

Meanwhile, Jake and Amy together would be bland and stodgy, the leftover oatmeal to Jake and Rosa’s fruit loops. There’s not much more to Amy’s character than her ambition to make Captain, and her teacher’s pet tendencies. She’s more than a cliché, but not much more. Even if Amy and Jake do end up with each other- and I guess they will- I want Jake and Rosa to date first.

Full disclosure: I’m on Season 2, and if anyone spoils anything (I don’t care if you think it’s trivial), I will hunt you down. Peace.

Image Credit: http://i.imgur.com/OtFf5BB.png

Leave a Reply!