Trump is Leading… the Apocalypse?

https://chiefdonaldtrump.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/trump-nope.jpg

Few people haven’t heard the depressing news, but for those who continue hiding out during these last tension-heavy moments: It’s true. The moldy orange is ahead. Seeing as there’s nothing you can do about it (except cast your own vote, if you live in the US and are of voting age) but sigh with the rest of the world. It might have been amusing in the past to picture what kind of decisions Trump might make, when everyone scoffed at the mere idea of a Trump presidency, but now it’s just depressing.

Meanwhile, rather than accepting the horrors that reality might bring, let’s pretend it doesn’t exist. For the uninitiated, that’s how life’s biggest problems are solved: homework, tests, moldy fruit in the fridge. (If you don’t know that it’s there, you won’t have to throw it out!)

Why don’t we dwell on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? I read it rather recently, because I wasn’t sure at first whether I should read it or not, but then I realized that the Harry Potter books will never be “ruined” for me. Nothing will ever rob them of the magic they had when I first read them. So why the heck not?

I have to add my voice here to the din of others on the subject: Scorpius Malfoy and Albus Severus Potter are obviously, clearly in love with each other. It sounded jarringly fake when Albus tells his mother that he “fancied” Delphi. Uh, yeah, no. There was nothing between them, and while Scorpius hero-worships Rose, there wasn’t much there, either. I mean, the kind of things that Albus and Scorpius say to each other are so overtly romantic that it baffles me that the script even tries to convince us they’re in love with other people.  I can accept that perhaps they don’t realize they’re in love with each other, but C’MON.

To compensate for that ludicrous falsehood, I have read so, so much slash fiction pairing them opposite each other. I’m still not over it. Why does every single fic change their personalities? I’d rather they just stuck with the book. I don’t want to read about them if Scorpius is some kind of mini-Draco, minus the ponytail.

Also, NaNoWriMo. Does that word trigger any guilt? Are you supposed to be working on a novel right now? Scoot.

It’s such a beautiful day outside, and the weather will probably remain pleasant even after the election results are announced. Take that, Canada. At least we have sunshine.

Ugh, who am I kidding? The apocalypse is upon us! Run, hide, take cover!

Image Credit: chiefdonaldtrump.com
Leave a Reply!

